India vs New Zealand 1st Test Day 1 Live Score Updates: India Skipper Ajinkya Rahane Wins Toss, Opts To Bat vs New Zealand In Kanpur | Cricket News


IND vs NZ Test Score Updates: Ajinkya Rahane will lead the Indian team for the 1st Test vs New Zealand.© AFP

India vs New Zealand 1st Test, Day 1: India captain Ajinkya Rahane has won the toss and elected to bat vs New Zealand on Thursday in the first Test of the two-match series at the Green Park Stadium in Kanpur. Both the teams have included three specialist spinners each in their playing XIs. Shreyas Iyer is making his Test debut for India in the first game and is likely to bat in the middle-order in the absence of regular skipper Virat Kohli. This is also first Test for Team India under new coach Rahul Dravid where many big names like regular captain Virat Kohli, opening batsman Rohit Sharma, pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami and wicketkeeper-batter Rishabh Pant are missing from the squad. Kohli will join and lead the team in the second Test in Mumbai while Ajinkya Rahane is captaining the side for the first Test. Rahane had last captained India in three Tests during the Australia tour where his young brigade defeated the Tim Paine-led side for the second consecutive time Down Under. The last time these two sides met in a Test match was back in June this year when the Blackcaps lifted the inaugural World Test Championship trophy. (LIVE SCORECARD)

India vs New Zealand 1st Test, Day 1 Live Cricket Score Straight From Green Park, Kanpur

  • 09:44 (IST)

    DRS Saves Gill!

    Southee to Gill, appeal for LBW and yes the umpire has given him out but Shubman Gill has gone for a review.

    DRS: Ball touched the bat and Gill will stay.

    Live Score: India 3/0

  • 09:37 (IST)

    First Runs for India!

    Southee to Agarwal, two runs to deep backward point. Agarwal is playing for India after 10 months but he looked in a great touch today.

    Live Score: India 2/0

  • 09:34 (IST)

    First Ball: Excellent Out-Swinger From Southee!

    Southee to Agarwal, no run, excellent swing bowling from one of the New Zealand’s best pacer.

  • 09:33 (IST)

    Action Begins In Kanpur!

    Players are in the middle, Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal are the Indian openers for this game. Tim Southee will bowl the first over.

  • 09:27 (IST)

  • 09:16 (IST)

    3 Spinners In New Zealand Playing XI!

    New Zealand Playing XI: Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell(w), Rachin Ravindra, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson, William Somerville

  • 09:15 (IST)

    India Playing XI: Shreyas Iyer To Debut, Gill, Mayank, Ashwin, Axar Return!

    India Playing XI: Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane(c), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

  • 09:02 (IST)

  • 08:22 (IST)

    India vs New Zealand: Head To Head In Tests!

    Both the sides have faced each other in 60 Test matches, with India coming out on top with 21 wins and New Zealand have bagged 13 victories.

  • 08:13 (IST)

    Ashwin Eyes Kumble, Harbhajan Records!

    Ravichandran Ashwin, with 413 wickets, is India’s fourth-highest wicket-taker in the longest format of the game. Ashwin enjoys a great record on home soil, and is likely to surpass Harbhajan Singh (417 wickets) in the list. Also, Ashwin needs one more 10-wicket-haul to equal Anil Kumble’s record of most 10-fers by an Indian bowler. He has seven 10-wickets haul in the longest format compared to Kumble’s 8. 

  • 08:07 (IST)

  • 08:00 (IST)

    Hello And Welcome!

    Hello and welcome to the live blog of Day 1 of the first Test match between India and New Zealand that will start shortly at the Green Park in Kanpur. Ajinkya Rahane is set to lead the Indian side again in the absence of the regular skipper Virat Kohli who was rested for the first Test. This will also be the first Test match for Team India under new coach head coach Rahul Dravid. For New Zealand, their regular skipper Kane Williamson will return to the side after a break. The Blackcaps have won all of the last three Test matches against India including the World Test Championship final victory in Southampton.

    The match will start at 9:30 AM IST while the toss will take place at 9:00 AM IST.

Topics mentioned in this article